about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Dec. 25
... Give his life up to be all he can
Merry Christmas.

Okay, this is going to sound really petty, but please hear me out. I don't mean it this way. As I've gotten older, I've learned to put less and less stock in presents, because they get less and less satisfying. Not that I get bad stuff or whatever--because I get some nice stuff--but it's not all about that, and the less I expect it to be, the more satisfied I am.

The more I expect the presents to make or break Christmas, the more likely it is to be broken; the more I expect them to just be a part of the day, the more likely it is to be made.

It's been a good Christmas this year. Fun times. There are ways in which it's been one of the best I've had in the past few years, just because of the people I've been surrounded with and the place they have in my life. It's a blessing, and I'm grateful for it. There are fewer of them, but they're more significant, especially this week.

Swedish dinner today, instead of turkey. We'll do turkey or ham or something tomorrow with the rest of my dad's side of the family.

I wish we could do Christmas with my mom's side again sometime before we all grow up, get married, and start our own Christmases. The last one we had with that side was in '97, I think. At any rate, it's been a while. It's hard to get down there, though, and it becomes more difficult as we get older and as we become busier with other things. Everyone but our family is there this year, though, which will be good for them, I hope.

Anyways... dinner's soon. I should go. More later.

One year ago today: And it's not over yet. Tomorrow, I'm going Boxing Day shopping with my dad for a while, and then I'm going to pick up Ruth and bring her back to a houseful of noisy relatives. We'll sit around, tease each other, and sic the little kids on each other, and we'll have fun watching the kids discover the magic of Christmas for the first time while we rediscover it for the second or third or fourth time. By the time we all go home, we'll be full, satisfied, and sated with music, food, and laughter. It'll be a good day.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:10 p.m.