about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Nov. 1
... Like no other can
NaNo's started!!! And I even wrote 600 words or so before going to bed last night! Not a greatly impressive start, but it's better than nothing, that's for sure.

I changed my layout. Mainly because my gold membership ran out, and I didn't have anywhere to host the images, so I needed something that was already hosted. I'll renew my gold soon... I really like it a lot.

Anyways... I still haven't written very much about last weekend. Mainly because I just don't know what to write. It sounds like it was this huge emotional turmoil, and in some ways, it was, but in so many ways, it was a great weekend. I loved hanging out with Brian, Janna and I had some great time in the car to talk, and it was really good to see Brian's family again.

***

You do know what it's like. I know you do.

I know all these little things about you. I know what you looked like at your high school grad, and I know what "Having a Hank-ering for a BK sandwich" refers to. I know that vanilla is your favorite scent in the world, and I know what you got for your 18th birthday. I know your greatest fears and your biggest dreams. I know that you eat at Red Robin's every week and that you just don't do the "school thing." I know how many girlfriends you've had, and I remember what you looked like at 16. I can recognize your handwriting from across the room, and I know exactly what you smell like. I know who your favorite actor is, and I know what your favorite constellation is. I know that you even have something as weird as a favorite constellation.

I know you know. You're the only person who knows exactly what it's like to come here, and you know what it's like to have me there. You know how to answer the questions, and you know what kind of explanations have to come along with it. You know why cows are important and you understand the significance of lizards. I know you know what it feels like to have two feet between us. I know you know.

You know I know, and you know as much about me as I do about you.

And yet, with all of that, we still don't know what to do now.

Ironic, isn't it?
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:00 p.m.