about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Nov. 2
... She was touching her face
Please tell me why it is that I only wrote 1500 words yesterday, starting the month at about 150 words behind quota, and yet today I was able to write a 1692 word email to Jen. Yes, I used the wordcount feature on my email. I figured that if I was going to write it, I may as well know how much I'd written!

Do you know how tempting it is to incorporate the email into my novel? Technically I could--I wrote it in November. It's not something I wrote outside of the month. Gah.

But a bunch of the Calgary NaNo's got together last night to meet and talk about our novels. Fun times, as always.

Okay. Seriously. Would anyone have a problem with it if I incorporated this email into my novel? Maybe I'll write a novel that will just be a series of random emails and papers, all strung together with a little bit of plot in between. Heh.

No, I'll be good. I'll actually write something else. I'll make it work with the storyline, and I won't sacrifice my novel for the sake of an easy 1700 words. *whines* Although those would be the easiest 1700 words I could add...

Okay... enough of that.

Must think about something else.

So far, I like the direction my novel's taking. And the cool thing about it is that I have three separate storylines going, so if I get stuck on one, I can move to another, and work on that for a while, and then put it all together in the end. I'm going for a Fannie Flagg, "Fried Green Tomatoes At The Whistle Stop Cafe" type of feeling. Not the same sort of story at all, but you know how she has parallel stories that are told at the same time, and sometimes seem to have nothing to do with each other? And she jumps around in time, telling the story through narrative, dialogue, letters, newspaper articles... etc, etc, etc. That's kind of the style mine will (hopefully) be. Although my parallel stories will be somewhat more connected than the ones in "Tomatoes," just because all my characters are in the same family, at least.

Yeah. It's totally different from last year's novel, but I'm really excited to see how it works. :o) I just hope it sounds as good on paper as it does in my head!

One year ago today: The older I get, the more I realize how much I love that place. I've said many, many times that it's not perfect, and I'm not deluded into thinking that it is, but it's home. That place is my family, in some ways more than my real family--in some ways, it completes my real family. I don't know how to describe it... it's just home.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:05 p.m.