about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Nov. 12
... The spirit of the day has not been lost
Is it any wonder that I haven't written much? All week, I've been leaving the house by 9 a.m. and not getting home until 11, 12, 1... sometime in there. Today, I spent 14 1/2 hours at Quiznos. Well, almost. I left for about an hour and a half in the afternoon.

I haven't been on the NaNo site in days. Almost a week, probably. But seriously. I just haven't been home. Slash online.

Last night, my dad and brother sang in the "Calgary Choir for Peace," which was put together for a special Remembrance Day concert, featuring John Rutter's Requiem. That's a cool piece. I hadn't heard that before, but I'm glad I went. The music was incredible. It really told the story... a story... something bigger than just this.

I had to work during the day, so I didn't get to a Remembrance Day service in the morning, like I usually do, so it was nice to get to do something that felt Remembrance Day-ish. It was nice. Pretty cool.

It's been a long week. Blair's gone, so everyone else has had to pick up the slack a little bit, which means a few (about 15) extra hours this week. Well, it'll be that long by Sunday night. But it'll be a good paycheck.

Anyways. Rehearsal in the morning. Sleep needed between now and then.

G'night.

One year ago today: I started printing last year�s novel today. Somehow, it makes it seem that much more real when I can actually see it on paper and flip through pages of my own writing. I mean, this is a hard copy�the first hard copy�an edited hard copy�that people can read and that can be passed around from person to person. Will I ever publish? I don�t know. I�ve considered self-publishing, but I�m not sure. This is still a work in progress, and I need a good editor who will be harsh with the red pen to take a look at it, and give me some more to work with, so that it�s not just a mediocre story, but a really good one. Of course, the first person who has to read it is Brian. Hence the reason why I�m printing it out. I�m going to mail him a copy, because he needs to see it first. Parts of it are just as much his story as they are mine, and I need him to give me his reaction to all of that.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:58 p.m.