about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Saturday, Oct. 15, 2005
... Can't make it go away
I really had no intention of going almost 2 weeks without updating here! Seriously... But, here I am, and I'm not going to be too inspired or exciting, but I will answer some Thursday Threesome questions. Even though it's Saturday.

::County Library System::

Onesome: County-- The wild card for today: Do you know approximately how many people live in your county? It used to be that information was only available at the library; I'm betting most of us will be looking it up on the net! Do I even live in a county? I don't in Calgary--I live in a city, not a county. I used to live in Wheatland County, but I have no idea how many people live in it.

Twosome: Library-- Do you use the library system where you live? ...or are you one of those who has to own the book (and can afford to)? Students: how good is your school library? ...and do use it or the net for most things? I absolutely use the library! It was one of the first things I tried to do when I moved here--as soon as I could, I got myself a library card! I do like buying as many books as possible, but if it's a novel that I'll only read once, I'd rather just sign it out. Besides, at the rate I read, it would be unbelievably expensive to buy every book. As it is, I love to shop at used bookstores and find good sales. I so rarely pay cover price--that just seems wrong to me! :o)

Threesome: System-- Hey, what system do you use to store/keep track of your books and music and whatever it is that tends to outgrow its living area? Do you alphabetize? ...sort by color? ...genre? Genre, mostly. They're not necessarily alphabetized, but I keep my "sections" separate. Of course, most of my books are in boxes right now, but when they're on shelves, I have children's books, "intelligent" fiction, "fluffy" fiction, Christian growth-types of books, college textbooks, scripts, theatre reference books... am I missing anything? I don't think so... When I have my own house with my own great bookshelves, I'll have a better system, but for now, that works! :o)

Anyways, I need to go put away laundry, take a shower, and get ready to do something exciting and wonderful with my evening! What that'll be, I don't know yet, but I'll think of something... A play or something, hopefully. I'm not sure which one yet, but I'll decide soon enough! :o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:34 p.m.