about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Dec. 29
... Or in times that she cried
Three days off, starting... now. I don't have to go back to work (except to pick up my paycheck tomorrow) for another... 92 hours. And considering the fact that I only had one day off for Christmas, I'm rather excited about that.

Pray for nice weather and good roads on Saturday--if the roads aren't bad, Ismarys and I are going to go to Banff for the day, and honestly, I think she really needs it. It would be a blast for both of us, but I think it would be a really huge deal for her. Because, believe it or not, she's lived in Calgary for ... 5 years, I think. Or something like that. And she's never been to Banff.

Can you believe that there are only two days left in 2004? It seems like just yesterday that it was stretching out in front of us. A blank book, waiting to be written; a story waiting to be told; a stage waiting for actors.

Calendar pages were rife with anticipation of everything that they would be filled with; now I look back at class schedules, assignments, meetings, coffee dates, appointments, travel arrangements, phone numbers and addresses, rehearsals, work schedules, time with friends. Every notation that was pencilled in represents something learned, an experience shared, a memory gained...

Fast away the old year passes... fa la la la la la la la la la... Hail the new, ye lads and lasses... fa la la la la la la la la...

Now, 2005 stares in my face with the same calling. It beckons, daring me to imagine what might fill the pages; daring me to even begin to dream of all the adventures that this year will bring. Because try as I may, I can never know. I always look back at the end of December and am surprised at where the previous year has taken me. This year being no exception. And, I'm sure, 2005 will be the same, but only in that regard.

I have my ideas--I have things I would love to see happen, and even plans that I'm fairly sure will come to fruition, but the adventure is in the journey, not the destination. I may have some vague idea of the milestones that are coming, but what makes them special--what makes them uniquely mine--is the route that I take to get there, and that is something that I can never realize, except in retrospect.

Of course, the other thing that the end of the year means is that it's almost time for my massive 2004 recap entry. It's a doozy, let me tell you! I'm pretty pleased with the format, though... you'll just have to slug through the whole thing once I post it and tell me what you think. :o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:42 p.m.