about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Dec. 27
... Another stop sign, you keep moving on
I've been thinking about my job lately, for some reason, and I've come to another conclusion as to why I stay there.

It keeps me from getting too complacent, and helps me to remember what my goals are. What I mean by that is that working in a fast-food place helps me to remember how very over-qualified I am, but it continually reminds me that, even though I do really enjoy the people I work with, I don't want to be there forever. Within a few years, I want to be running my own business, and within a few years after that, I want it to be able to pay the bills. Being at Quiznos helps me to remember that.

I think that if I was in a better-paying, cushy job that I really enjoyed (enjoyed the job, not just the people), I could find myself in danger of getting too comfortable, and continuing to put my company on the back burner, and eventually running out of time for it.

This way, I'm constantly reminded. Every time I tell someone what I do for a living, I'm reminded that I'm not here forever. Every time I talk about my company. Every time I get a paycheck. Every time I calculate the hours that I've volunteered for a show. Every time I see a friend get a job that's actually in a real career.

I've realized, though, that there's a downside to this. Starting a business is something that takes startup capital, and I don't make enough money to save much of anything, let alone enough to start a business. So, this is where I guess I'll have to get creative.

If this is where God wants me to be, which, for now, I believe it is, then he'll provide the funds for my company to start, when the timing is right. If this isn't where he wants me to stay until my company is off the ground, he'll provide me with a job where I'll make enough money that I can put a good chunk of it away.

The trick is to listen and to keep asking for guidance. I'm so good at following my own path, but that's not what it's all about. That's not what I'm supposed to be doing.
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:16 p.m.