about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Dec. 25
... Hark how the bells
I am so not doing this alone next year. I love my family--my big, crazy, loud, psycho family. I'm sick of the comments about not having a boyfriend/being engaged/being married/having any prospects. Next year, someone is coming with me. I've done this alone for enough years; it's about time that I got to do it in a pair.

That's how life is supposed to be, right? Two by two. And I'm waiting for my "two."

But it was still fun. Lots of laughter, food, presents, jokes, stories, teasing, hugs, singing, joy. A good Christmas. I appreciate my family--especially my extended family--more as I get older.

Anyways, Merry Christmas. I hope your day was blessed and happy, and that you got to spend the day with the people you love most.

Addendum: New Christmas tradition, maybe?

My almost-20-year-old cousin Jessica invited some "orphans" home with her from Edmonton for Christmas, and they happened to be three very good-looking Quebecois boys named Yves, Micael, and PY. They brought along some French-Canadian folk music, so we had a dance party on my aunt's hardwood living room floor.

Jessica, Becky (my 16-year-old cousin), Carl (my 16-year-old brother), the three Quebecois boys, and I all danced for two hours. They taught us these dances; we taught them to two-step and jive, and it was incredible amounts of fun. And my brother isn't such a bad dancer. There's potential there, at any rate.

In any case, it was fun. There was much laughter and shortage of breath (that's a good post-Christmas-dinner workout!). I can't believe how fast they're all growing up, though. My cousins are all getting so big!

Anyways... Merry Christmas. Again. I'm going to sleep.

One year ago today: It's been a good Christmas this year. Fun times. There are ways in which it's been one of the best I've had in the past few years, just because of the people I've been surrounded with and the place they have in my life. It's a blessing, and I'm grateful for it. There are fewer of them, but they're more significant, especially this week.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:19 p.m.