about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Jan. 29
... You need an area code, you know
Yeah, I got bored. And I figured that I'm justified in putting up this layout, since I've been to London (and will be going back this spring!!) and have ridden the Tube. I'd love to find a layout with the NYC subway on it, but no luck yet, so this will do for now. I thought it was pretty cool, but maybe that's just me. But hey--it's my diary, so it doesn't matter what the rest of you think, anyways!

The thing about being so lazy this week is that now it's hard to get motivated. I didn't have to work this morning (no, I didn't skip--I just wasn't scheduled), so I've slept in pretty much every morning this week, thanks to the weather. Except Tuesday. I was up at 8:30, even though I didn't have to be. But tomorrow I have to work, and it's back to normal times and all that fun stuff for me. It's been nice to have a little bit of a break, but it's tiring. It shouldn't be, but you know how you get tired when you don't do much? The littlest things are too much exertion, it seems.

I'm losing motivation already. Not completely, but it just seems so overwhelming. I look at everything that needs to be done, and I just have no idea where to start. No clue what to tackle first, and so nothing ends up getting done. Well, not nothing, but it gets done a lot slower than it should be.

I got a memo in my mailbox yesterday from Cindy, with a list of requirements for grad. Not classes, just extra paperwork and requirements that way.

The one I think is the funniest is my "third-year interview." We're all supposed to have an interview with our department head, as kind of an admission to the third year of the program. The thinking behind it is, if you're not going to make it, better that you know after 2 years instead of four. Well, I didn't take mine, because at the time, I was enrolled in the diploma program, which was only two years (although it would have taken me 3 to finish it), so technically, I didn't have a "third year." I was still technically a "second year" student, just in my third year of taking classes. Confusing, I know, but bear with me.

I transferred back into the 4-year program, and didn't really take my third-year interview, but that was all fine and whatever... I just kept going with my classes.

Well, apparently, the third-year interview is a graduation requirement. So now, 3 months away from grad, I have to take my interview to be "officially accepted" into the 3rd year (even though I'm over 1/2-way finished my 4th) of the program. What a waste of time, I think. I mean, seriously, what's she going to say? "This program isn't right for you; you should consider some other career path"? Yeah, whatever. It just makes me laugh.

One year ago today: In class discussions, there are a lot of references to things that have happened before, examples that Cindy uses to explain things. Some of them directly have to do with us, and we remember the events; some of them are stories that we've heard many times, and so when she starts to tell it, we start laughing before she gets to anything funny.
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:52 p.m.