about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jan. 30
... LIke a llama, or an emu
Well, it's almost balmy here. -23C. That's pretty impressive, considering the week we've had. I think that Morgan puts it so succinctly. Sad, sad day. And you know what makes it even more sad? I was scheduled to work from 9-3:30 today. I had Megan take the last 2 hours of my shift, because I had a meeting at 2, so I needed to finish work at 1:30 to get to the school on time. I got to the school, only to find that my meeting had been cancelled. Grrr. Ah well... I picked up an extra 2 hours on security tonight, so I guess that makes up for it.

You're Perfect ^^
-Perfect- You're the perfect girlfriend. Which means you're rare or that you cheated :P You're the kind of chick that can hang out with your boyfriend's friends and be silly. You don't care about presents or about going to fancy places. Hell, just hang out. You're just happy being around your boyfriend.

What Kind of Girlfriend Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Someone please tell me, if this is the case, why have I been single for so long?! And no, I didn't cheat.

Um, yeah. Friday Five. Let's go with that.

You have just won one million dollars:

1. Who do you call first? Um, probably Laurel or Logan, even though Laurel would possibly disagree with the fact that I would tell her first. I wouldn't go and call everyone I know, though.

2. What is the first thing you buy for yourself? A car, I think. Still probably used, but something nicer than what I've got now. And possibly, I'd buy a house. Nothing huge; just something that I could have, and still have roommates, but they'd pay me the rent, instead of a landlord! I wouldn't want to get a "this is the rest of my life" house, just because I don't know what city I'll end up living in down the road; I'd just get something that would be mine, and I could sell it later on, when it was necessary.

3. What is the first thing you buy for someone else? Um, random acts of kindness for people. I don't know... I'd take everyone out for dinner. If we're just talking the first thing for someone else, I'm not totally sure. Gifts would come, but first would be...

4. Do you give any away? If yes, to whom? Yep. Some to my parents, for all the school they paid for, some to my church, and some to various other charities. I'd have to sit down and figure out which ones would be top of my list, and how I'd give it away.

5. Do you invest any? If so, how? Yes, but I have no brain for that kind of thing, so I'd get someone smart to take care of that for me. I don't know how I'd invest it... Wisely, I hope. :o)

Now I have "If I Had a Million Dollars" running through my head. Particularly the version Darren and Tadek did for the Christmas play. Is anyone else finding that Barenaked Ladies are suddenly on the in-head sound system? Yep. I think I'm the only one...

One year ago today: But that conversation about whether we should even be making promises in the first place has stuck with me for a long time, and as I get older, I'm starting to realize more of the wisdom in that. There have been many promises that I've made. Some, I've kept. Some, I haven't. Not necessarily because I've set out to break them, but because life has just changed directions and they've become irrelevant. And I wonder... in God's eyes, does that promise bind me to that person, in some way, no matter how "small"? Would letting my "yes" be "yes" be better? Does that take care of the moment, and leave the future up to God, not to me?
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:31 p.m.