about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jan. 15
... A ragged man in ragged clothes
I'm so excited!!! Laurel and I have just spent the morning brainstorming ideas for "Our Town" and what we're going to do with the ending... I'm so pumped! I'm seeing the ideas in my head, and seeing the pictures come together, and I'm getting goosebumps just thinking about it! It's going to be beautiful... And I'm not going to give away what we're doing with the ending, just in case someone who's reading this comes to see it.

This is one of the things I love about being a director--getting these ideas, seeing them come together in my head, and then watching them come to life on the stage. If I'm this excited about it, and it's still just a brainstormed idea, imagine how much I'm going to be bouncing off the walls once it actually comes together!

I think the people sitting beside us in the food court at lunch thought that we were a little bit crazy... we were going on about this play, talking about different people, describing their actions and emotions, and getting giddy and excited in the process. Yeah. We're a little bit odd. But it's just so much fun! :o)

I'm excited. I can't wait to see it all play out. I love watching the actors get it; I love watching the pieces fall together. I get giddy and start shaking when they're up there performing, because I'm so proud of them, and because I know better than anyone in the audience how much work went into it... I just can't wait to see them put everything into it and come out so proud of themselves.

One year ago today: The older I get, though, the more I realize that I don't know. The more life I live and the more I learn, the fewer answers and the more questions I have. I still believe in absolutes; I still believe in right and wrong, and the essential fiber of who I am and what I believe is the same now as it was at 14. Still, though, I keep learning that every story has a background. I'm learning that I can't judge based on first appearances, even if something is wrong. I don't know what led someone to do that wrong.
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:35 p.m.