about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Feb. 9
... A picture hanging up on someone else's wall
I came to the conclusion last night that Denny's attracts a certain type of staff. You have to really love the type of people that frequent a Denny's to work there, I think. Last night, Wanda, Allison, and I had a meeting at the Banff Trail Denny's (not the one I usually go to, but the one that's much closer to my house) at some ungodly hour of the night--we started our meeting at around 10:30 or so--and we had the greatest server.

At some point during the evening, while we were waving down airplanes and being invited over for authentic Indian chai tea, it occurred to me that I don't think I've ever had a server at Denny's who didn't have a sense of humor and the willingness to joke around with us. It just seems to be part of the job description and the whole atmosphere of the place.

Maybe it's the number of regulars that come to a place like that; maybe it's the fact that half the customers come in the middle of the night, and that time of day just requires a special sort of stamina and humor.

Whatever it is... it makes the place good. That, I think, is what makes Denny's the ever-popular hangout spot that it is.

Anyways, I've got to get to work... another day of Quiznos calls... and then a meeting (yeah, another one--you'd think I worked in an office or something, with the number of meetings I have!)... and then hangout time with Kat. And it's her turn to pick what we do, so I don't even have to try to be original and creative! :o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:50 a.m.