about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Feb. 10
... You don't know what you've been missing
Well, Christian finally got the Alida hangout time that he was clamoring for. Kat and I ate chocolate last night (mmmmm.... Cheesecake's brownie fudge sundae... my PMS-ing ovaries were in heaven) and talked girly talk until it came out our ears, and then we rented The Notebook and watched it at their house. Which they've lived in for a year, and last night was the first time I'd seen it. Seriously, people. What kind of friend am I?

And even though Christian severely mocked our movie choice, we still had a good time. And we liked our movie. Plus, we had hours of excellent girl talk. It's amazing how much we can catch up on every week. Makes me wonder if, in some ways, we're still making up for lost time.

Oh--on the plus side, there were no towels, legs, chest hair, or lap dances involved in last night's movie-watching experience...

Uh.

Do you ever watch yourself live, and for one brief moment, see yourself as objectively as is humanly possible? A split second of an out-of-body experience of sorts... You're in the moment, you're experiencing something--whatever it is--and then there's a moment where you see yourself as someone else might see you at that moment.

I had one of those today. Nothing huge or earth-shattering... just a moment. I realized how much I've changed in so many ways, and I saw myself react to someone in a way that I wouldn't have a year or two ago.

It made me shake my head at myself, because it just goes to prove how very far I have to go in becoming the woman I want to be. The woman God wants me to be. I'm getting there, but it's a long, slow journey, and it'll take a lifetime and more.

At work, Becky always offers the freezer, if we need a place to lock ourselves in for a minute and scream. Just to let off steam. I think that Blair and Maria use it most often, but that's beside the point. Anyways, she told me that the freezer was waiting for me, if I needed it, and my immediate response was, "Yeah, and so is the character that I'm building right now!"

I sound more and more like my mother every day.

Speaking of my mother, I had some interesting realizations about my family, my relationships with them, and who (outside my family) influences those relationships when Kat and I were talking last night. It kind of surprised me.

Anyways... I have to pee. Which means that I have to finish this entry pretty quick.

One year ago today: Anyways. The weekend. It was so good. So nice to relax, not have to worry about anything, and be somewhat pampered for a few days. The play was incredible, and we wanted to see it again. That's the trouble--we saw it, and then spent several hours discussing it, dissecting it, and listening to the soundtrack, and then there were a lot of things we wanted to see again, to watch for, or to clarify, or whatever. I really wish we could have seen it more than once. Even twice would have been a great thing.
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:18 p.m.