about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Nov. 27
... Looking so crazy right now
Grrr. How the crap did I just delete my entire entry?

Bah.

Anyways, as I was saying, I finally feel like I had a rehearsal that makes me confident in my ability and in this show. This morning was actually really good--really productive--really energizing. We got a lot done, and I think the cast had a lot to jel with, which is so important. Goodness knows that Mike, Scott, and Heather have enough confidence in me to make up for my lack (either that, or they're really good at pretending), but it's still nice to have some of my own to fill in the gaps.

But it's finally coming together. The set is going up as we speak, the headshots are done, the program is almost finished, there's a preview scene going up in tonight and tomorrow's services, and tech week starts on Wednesday, for all intents and purposes. There's a regular rehearsal on Wednesday, Q to Q on Thursday, tech dress on Friday, dress on Saturday, opening on Sunday, show on Tuesday, and closing on Wednesday.

Yeah, for the next week and a half, I'll be living, eating, and breathing the show. I love this part, though. Tech week is an insane amount of work, to be sure, but I love it. It really energizes me and gets the adrenaline going for the show itself.

Last night, I saw Fire Exit's production of The Beams are Creaking, the story of Dietrich Bonhoeffer. Excellent show. Barrett (the guy who played Dietrich) and Blaine (the director) did an exceptionally good job, I thought. Blaine made some really good, very specific choices that worked well.

Yeah... it's that time of year. Christmas. Shows. Concerts. I'm glad that our Christmas show is so early, because that means that I have a good 3 weeks without a show looming to really focus on Christmas. I love doing the Christmas show, but it's nice that it's over well before the 25th.

Yup yup. It's time to go write my director's notes. You'd think it would be easy for this show, but noooo... not so much! But then again, they're never that easy.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:22 p.m.