about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Feb 24
... Canadian, eh?
So I love this whole patriotism deal. I mean, I couldn't care less about hockey. But Canada? Now that's a different story. I mean, the kids hung a Canadian flag from the catwalks this evening during the play, and of course everyone had a fun time teasing Sam about it--why not?! Fun times, n'est-ce pas?

And I'm feeling quite a bit better, which makes my evening happier.

I love watching how I've grown up as a director; how my style is different than it was when I started directing; how I do things differently now than I did then. Performances are the least stressful for me--I mean, by this time, my main work is done. I'm around to do the litle odd jobs than need getting done--hair, makeup, set, props, whatever--and to oversee and be responsible for everything, especially when we take it on the road, but my work ends with rehearsals. Theoretically, I should be able to not show up for performances, and they should be able to run just fine. Stage manager should take over the overseeing of everything, and every tech crew should do their own thing. And they are. They're doing an amazing job. I just like to be there for the little details that were overlooked before, and need someone to take care of them. They have enough on their plates.

I got flowers and gift certificate from the cast tonight--they got me a massage this year. *sigh* That'll be wonderful. Colleen, Min, and I were talking about it, and saying that it's kind of like birthdays as you get older--you kind of expect something, so it's not a huge surprise when you get it,but you wouldn't be bitter if you didn't. You don't know what it's going to be, and you're so appreciative of it, regardless, even though you pretty much knew it was coming. It's great. I love my kids.

I can't believe the Olympics are over... I mean, it doesn't seem like the Nagano Olympics were that long ago, but it's been 4 years (duh). I was in grade 10. So long ago, but it doesn't seem like it at all. Ah well. Life goes on, at exactly the same pace it's always gone. Every minute is exactly the same length as the last, and that's the way it'll always continue to be. And four years from now, I won't think it'll have been all that long since these Olympics. Ah well. C'est la vie.

I don't know why, but I've got a few French phrases stuck in here today. Maybe it's my patriotic Canadian side coming out and using both official languages. :o) Okay, I'm getting tired. Enough for tonight. Au revior.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:58 p.m.