about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Sept 21
... And the reason is you
Wow. I haven't been that busy, but I just haven't had time to write. At least, it doesn't feel like I've been busy, but I guess I have. The weekend at work was crazy, but it was really good.

Our washing machine is still broken. I need clean clothes, but I can't get any. It's supposed to be done this week. And then the roommates all start fighting over the washer. Heh.

I get free coffee in the mornings now--Alex works at a gas station, and he told me that if I go in, I can fill up for free, and it's even on my way to work! Look at that!

So tonight was the first rehearsal/meeting for Anne Frank, which I'm SM-ing. Fun times. I'm actually excited... it took me a while, because I was hoping to act, but now I'm starting to get on board for it, and I'm starting to get excited to SM. It may not be my dream job, but I know I can do it well, and I know that I have a great appreciation for a good SM. And besides; I get to work with Laurel the director, which will make it even more fun. Heh.

Things are starting to come together for the Christmas show, too. We're getting the cast together, and it's actually starting to be real. This is the part of any show that actually reminds me that it's real. Before casting starts, this show is all in my head--I have this perfect visualization of the perfect cast and the perfect set... and then real people get involved. Things start to change, and the show takes on a life of its own.

It never looks exactly like the one in my head, but the finished product is invariably more exciting and more individual. It's the collaboration of so many people's imaginations, not just mine, and that makes it that much more exciting.

Yeah, I can't wait. Rehearsals start (if all goes well) in just over a week. Eek! We're finally getting somewhere!!

One year ago today: My feet still hurt from the heels yesterday, but it's been a great weekend, and I've been so happy to be here. Honestly... I know that most people say "it's an honor" to be part of something big in someone's life, but it really has been. 100% for real, no BS, no joking. I'm so happy that I've been here for this.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:19 p.m.