about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Sept. 18
... I wanna make you feel beautiful
I've had about 5 conversations in the past week that were pieces to a very large and very complicated puzzle. Last night, something clicked, and I realized that I can see a part of the picture much more clearly. A part of right now, at least.

It started last weekend, with a conversation at work with Christy, then the conversationwith Blair, then working on the casting process for the Christmas show, then Molly's entry about role models, and then a conversation with Becky about the other four pieces of the puzzle.

The short version of that is that last night, enough pieces fell into place for me to realize that I'm where I need to be right now. I need to remind myself that it's okay that I'm working at Quiznos, even though I have a degree, because a) I'm pursuing my theatre dreams, and b) it's where God wants me to be. It's a good place for me to be, spiritually, and I'm in a very enriching place, in many ways.

And, taking a cue from Molly's entry, and a little bit of inspiration from the anonymous comments, I need to say thank you to the people who have been and become role models and inspirations to me recently. Maybe these won't stay as anonymous, though--maybe they'll go on cards, and I'll send some mail.

There are more. When I start to think about it, there are so many people who have impacted me in so many little ways. Maybe there's a difference between impacting and being a role model? Maybe... I know there's a difference between being a role model and a mentor... but how do you differentiate? Is it really necessary? There's a place to just accept the impact, and not try to analyze it.

So, thank you. You've helped to make the pieces of my puzzle fit into place.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:14 p.m.