about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Mar. 9
... Thirteen Mighty Dwarves
Tuesdays are long. Work, class, and then a combination of 5 rehearsals plus an acting class. And today, one of those rehearsals was cancelled, and I'm still tired.

I have time to go to the gym now, though. Last semester, I was all about hitting the gym at 10:00 at night, sometimes even closing the place out at midnight, but I haven't been there that late all semester. Hmmm. I think that by the end of the day, it's just been so much that I'm too tired to try and work out that late at night. I'm having trouble thinking of going at 8! But I'll go, because I have time, and then head up to the church to practice piano for a while. And Logan and I need to work on our dance, although I don't know if we'll get to that tonight.

So, Dave is teaching our acting class for the rest of the semester, because Cindy needs to take it easy, because of the baby. I'm not so sure how I feel about that. For scene study, it's fine, but for acting... that's a little different. The Meisner technique is so specific, and Dave isn't as trained in it as Cindy is. He has some training, for sure, but not as much, and I don't know if he has enough to really be teaching.

By this point, granted, it's not "teaching" as much as it is facilitating. We've all had 4 years of the technique, so we mostly know what we're doing--it's not like we're trying to learn the foundations of it. We're just refining what we already have and what we already know.

Still, though, it's a little disconcerting to me. Their styles are very different, and that's partly just different people coming at the same task from a different direction, but it's also the fact that they emphasize very different things.

Like I said, in scene work, that's not such a big deal, but in acting and technique work, it's a little bit more specific. Scenes can be taken as a director; exercises not as much, but that's what I felt like he was trying to work it as today.

We'll see how it goes. There's not that long left anyways, so we'll see what happens with it... Maybe it'll be a good thing; maybe it won't matter all that much in the long run. It's just frustrating that our class got screwed over, in a sense, yet again.

Don't get me wrong--Dave's a great guy, and I love working with him, but it's tough and unfair (I think) to switch teachers 2 months from graduation. And I know it's not their fault. It's not anyone's fault; it's just the way it happens sometimes. It just seems to happen to us more often than not.

One year ago today: Tonight, at the end of the play, Mike said his last monologue, and Meghan died. Edwin's expression was stricken, the best it's ever been. He looked at her, and I believed him. I believed that he loved her, and that he didn't know how he would go on without her. Emma was a little fussy backstage, and Esther carried her out, still crying a little, and handed her to Edwin. As soon as she got into Edwin's arms, she was quiet, and just looked at him, then started squalking a little bit again. He held her, rocking her and just looking at her while Emily came out, stroked Emma's head, and latched onto Edwin's leg. The lights faded, and just a split second before the blackout, Edwin leaned over and kissed the top of Emma's head.
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:07 p.m.