about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Nov. 1
... Where you lead, I will follow
Be forewarned. For the next month, things around here are going to be very NaNo-related. So, the obligatory daily update. I hit about 2200 today. Still hoping to knock off another 1300 or so tonight before I go to bed--I want to get at least 2 days' worth.

It's been an interestingly uneventful day. I didn't work, so I spent a good part of the day in front of the computer, although not quite as productively as I was hoping it would be. I was hoping for 5000 words, but that's okay--at least I'm getting somewhere.

This year's novel is a chick-lit... should be fun. The interesting part will be keeping it light enough. I'm not much of a comedy writer, and while chick-lit isn't outright comedy, it's supposed to be light. I find it so much easier to write more serious stuff. Not all heavy, per se, but I just don't have the comedic joking down. So this is kind of a halfway point. Something that meets in the middle of plot and jokes, and gives me a chance to stretch myself.

I talked to Dave (who has yet to be important enough to merit his own piece of the cast page) for about an hour this morning. That was nice. That friendship is an unexpected blessing. Definitely anything but normal, but definitely all good.

And then, tonight, the kickoff with the other WriMo's. Good to see some people I hadn't seen for, well, a year. Since last November. Phil, Eryn, Janna... it was fun. And Janna and I had a great idea for a novel. If I didn't already have an idea for this year, I'd try it, but maybe next year.

Anyways... I've got another 1300 words calling my name, and I've just got to remind myself that that's just half of what I've already written today. And I'm still introducing characters, so I can just get into some really detailed descriptions, if all else fails.

One year ago today: I know all these little things about you. I know what you looked like at your high school grad, and I know what "Having a Hank-ering for a BK sandwich" refers to. I know that vanilla is your favorite scent in the world, and I know what you got for your 18th birthday. I know your greatest fears and your biggest dreams. I know that you eat at Red Robin's every week and that you just don't do the "school thing." I know how many girlfriends you've had, and I remember what you looked like at 16. I can recognize your handwriting from across the room, and I know exactly what you smell like. I know who your favorite actor is, and I know what your favorite constellation is. I know that you even have something as weird as a favorite constellation.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:52 p.m.