about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jan. 5
... Santa Claus is coming to town
I'm feeling very proactive--I signed out several books from the library about starting your own business, and I'm feeling like I'm getting somewhere. Even though I know that Unnamed won't be up and running for another few years, it's nice to be doing something about it.

I gave Becky a rather odd (I think) compliment the other day. I told her that I really like her family's names. Her extended family, that is--I was thinking about it, and I realized that there are a lot of classic, timeless names in that family--several variations and first and middle options of Elizabeth, Rebecca, Elliott, James... names like that. Names that don't really go out of style easily, that have a lot of nicknames (so more than one family member can have it), and that are good names--not like Mildred or Gertrude or something like that. I dunno--I just think they have good names to keep in the family.

Uh, yeah. Ismarys decided that my eyebrows needed some desperate help (I agree), so yesterday, we went to a salon in the same mini-mall as the store, and we took turns getting eyebrows and upper lips waxed during our slow time in the afternoon. Mmhmm. Who else does that on work time? And she thought it was such an urgent situation (because, after all, Santa Claus comes to town today) that she even paid for me.

You know you're a hopeless case when...

And, yes, Santa is in town. Just in case you were wondering. Although that doesn't really affect me for another few days.

Anyways... what else?

You know, the most exciting thing in the past few days was finding a book that's got dozens of forms for theatre--everything from costume, prop, lighting charts to cue lists to budget sheets to timesheets to... everything. I was pretty excited when I found it--definitely a good resource to have at my disposal.

But that fact is a pretty good indication of my life. I love it--I'm in a good place--but it's not very exciting at the moment. But that's okay. Good, even.

One year ago today: And, of course, the feeling of sheer and utter panic that overtakes me when I look at the workload. Yeah. That's what I'm most scared of right now. The fact that I'm cramming 2 semesters worth of work (well, not quite, but close) into this last semester. And the fact that I have so much paperwork that I just can't bring myself to do.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:20 p.m.