about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Jan. 19
... Revised and corrected
Good morning! This is the third? fourth? Monday or Wednesday in a row that I've been to school early. Quite the accomplishment for me. Not bad, I must say. Gives me a few minutes to wake up, check my email, and get my brain in order before class starts. Although right now, I should be finishing an assignment that's due in my 9:40 class. Meh. I'll get it in eventually... Oy vey. I can't believe I'm letting myself get behind already! Remind me that I have to get working on my Audition assignment that's due in 2 weeks. Yes, two weeks, but I need to get on top of it.

Although, get this. In my Audition and Tutorial class, I have quizzes, assignments, and one major assignment. The major assignment is worth 75% of my final grade. The quizzes (about 10 of them) are collectively worth 1/8 of my final grade. The assignments (about 5, including 2 papers) are collectively worth 1/8. So really, each assignment is only worth about 3% of my final grade. Please tell me why those are even worth doing...

I'm bad for that. Dave and I used to figure out the percentage of every assignment, and then determine how much effort we'd put into it based on that. Cindy is a big fan of giving tons of assignments, and then having them each weigh 5% or less of the final grade. 4% for a 10-page paper? Not so much. I don't think it's the fairest way to do things, but I guess that's what you've got to put up with...

Anyways... I'll try to shoot off last week's Friday Five before class. Let's see how fast this will be...

1. What does it say in the signature line of your emails? I don't have one; I just sign them with my name, and if it's a business-related thing, my email and phone number.

2. Did you have a senior quote in your high school yearbook? What was it? If you haven't graduated yet, what would you like your quote to be? Yes, I did... we got a lot of space, though--like a pargraph, so we had nicknames, memorable experiences, favorite quote, message to fellow grads... etc, etc, etc. I don't remember what all mine said. I'd look it up, but I'm not at home. Of course, I have to start thinking of my senior quote for my college yearbook now. Gah. Not sure what I want to leave here saying...

3. If you had vanity plates on your car, what would they read? If you already have them, what do they say? I have no idea. I've never really thought about it. Well, okay, I have, but I've never come up with anything satisfactory.

4. Have you received any gifts with messages engraved upon them? What did the inscription say? When I graduated from high school, my aunt and uncle gave me a pen and pencil set with my initials--ARA. Also, when Brian and I were dating, he gave me a keychain with "Angel" engraved on it. I think that's it...

5. What would you like your epitaph to be? I don't know what I want mine to be, but my all-time favorite epitaph is Benjamin Franklin's: "The body of B. Franklin, Printer (Like the Cover of an Old Book Its Contents torn Out And Stripped of its Lettering and Gilding) Lies Here, Food for Worms. But the Work shall not be Lost; For it will (as he Believ�d) Appear once More In a New and More Elegant Edition Revised and Corrected By the Author."

And I'm still on time for class!!

One year ago today: It's so strange to begin feeling so disconnected to home. I'm beginning to wonder if God's preparing me to leave here. I don't know if that's the case, I don't know when, and I don't know where to, but I keep feeling more and more like I'm being prepared for something. I don't know what, though. I have fewer connections to Calgary than I ever have, and I don't know if that's just because my life and priorities are changing and my attachments haven't caught up with the changes yet, or if it's because God's going to take me somewhere else in the next 6 months or so, or what.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:29 a.m.