about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, June 9
... There's no price I would not pay
Already Thursday? Only Thursday? I'm not sure which one it is. But in either case... only another week! Counting down to several events, one of which has several significances. Next Friday will be a good day for many reasons.

Until then... You would think I wouldn't be so tired. I went to bed quite early last night--thanks to the wonder of June sunsets, it was actually still light out when I went to bed. Not when I fell asleep, but when I got into bed. That should tell you something. Of course, Calgary in June doesn't actually get dark until after 10 p.m., but still. Being in bed by 10 is pretty early.

I've been having an interesting conversation with someone regarding the idea of contentment. There's a verse that I always have a time wrapping my mind around:

"But godliness with contentment is great gain." (1 Timothy 6:6)

It's an interesting one, n'est-ce pas? Godliness in and of itself is the goal, right? Godliness with contentment is great gain, though, which would suggest to me that it's possible to be godly without being completely content. It doesn't say that godliness without contentment is only half there... the wording makes it seem like godliness is there, but adding contentment to it makes it even better.

Thoughts?

I just went to Bible Gateway to look at it in different translations, and this is the same verse that I used in this entry (the one about simplicity), with The Message's translation. Maybe therein lies a key--contentment and simplicity are intertwined? There's a connection between them that needs to be explored and discovered?

And, in context, it's talking about financial gain, and monetary wealth. That being godly and being content with your current circumstance is actually as much of a gain as being rich.

Much to think about. Much to explore further, but I have to get to work. Schedule (and rent and bills) calls. More later.

One year ago today: So sad... We tried to cheer them on from here, but it just didn't work. I'm proud of the Flames, though. As if I have any say in it or any vested interested or influence on their success. Heh. Still. I'm a proud Calgarian at heart, and I wish I was there for their rally at Olympic Plaza today.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:35 a.m.