about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, June 8
... Think of how we all adore you
Home again, home again, jiggity jig... and I've already worked an 8-hour shift since I've been back. Originally, the plan was to be off yesterday as well as Monday, and to come back from Creston last night or this morning, but things at work got switched around a bit, and I needed to come back yesterday morning, so I could work an afternoon/evening shift yesterday.

Must say, I prefer the drive when it's not raining cats and dogs. It rained for about 7 of the 10 hours that I drove (5 hours there, 5 hours back), and at least 4 of those hours were pouring. Not just a "oh, this is kind of pretty, look at the nice litle sprinkle on my windshield" kind of rain. No, this was a, "I hope my car can float... oh, look, I'm hydroplaning. My wheels aren't on the ground, and the windshield is so covered in water that I can't see, even though my wipers are on high" kind of rain. Ah well. No matter what kind of weather I drive it in, it's always worth it to visit. Plus, it just makes it that much more eventful.

And now, back to routine. It's going to be a long work week. Something I won't mind once the paychecks come out, but in the meantime, it's a little bit trying. I just need a good day to sleep. I've just been really tired lately, and I can't seem to catch up on my sleep, or to get enough to be really rested. At least today is an opening, not a closing, shift. It's nice to work a 2-10 when I'm driving back from Creston, but overall, I prefer a 10:30-6:30. Or, best of all, a 9-5.

I have an interview of sorts next week, for a job for fall. We're setting up some sort of a phone interview, so that should be interesting. I should have some direction soon, which is exciting and scary and wonderful, all at the same time. I'm not exactly sure how I feel about it, but I committed a long time ago to follow this path for as long as the doors are open. I'm going to walk through them for as long as I can, and when they close, I can't say that I missed out because I chickened out. Last year it fell through, but it was because God definitely still had plans for me where I am. It wasn't because I was too afraid to follow through with it.

I should go hop in the shower and get ready to go to work. I slept so deeply last night... it was actually quite fantastic. Although there were strange dreams about a person I haven't dreamt about in a loooong time. That was rather odd. Not bad, but odd. Maybe I could get a few more nights of that kind of sleep, even if I don't get mornings where I can sleep until noon, and that would help?

Remind me that I do have more to talk about; I just don't have the time to organize those kinds of thoughts into coherent sentences before I leave for work.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:12 a.m.