about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Nov. 9
... Like an unrehearsed symphony
Why can't someone please tell my body that it's not allowed to get sick until after December 12! Or rather, after December 14. That would be nice. Please and thank you. It always does this to me--picks the busiest time in the semester to give me a nice flu, complete with fever, shakes, sore throat, swollen glands, and exhaustion.

Oy. I'm supposed to be going to Edmonton with Andria tomorrow, and I know she's been looking forward to it for so long, but all I really want to do is just stay in bed and sleep. I don't have classes until Wednesday, and I'm debating taking tomorrow to sleep, and then seeing if Andria minds going to Edmonton on Tuesday, and coming back that night. Or maybe I'll do it the other way around--we'll go tomorrow, and come back late tomorrow night, and then I can sleep all day Tuesday, since I booked it off work already. Hmmm. A plan is formulating.

I have a good boss, though. When Becky saw how miserable I was at work tonight, she sent her son, Mark, over to Starbucks to buy me a big apple cider, and then she treated the rest of the staff to coffee, too. Awww... she's great.

I had a really interesting conversation with her the other day. Thursday mornings, it's her and me opening the store, so we get into some fun discussions--she's a Christian, and her family has known mine forever and a day (she and all her siblings remember when my mom was pregnant with me)... Anyways, back from tangent. I was working on some project, about 45 min before we opened, so we had been working for about an hour and a quarter, and out of the blue, Becky says, "You know, you're a really hard worker, Alida." I was kind of awkward, said thanks, and then she said, "I love watching you work, because you don't ever look like you're rushing and you're not hectic about your work, and you'd think that you worked slow, but really, you get as much done as anyone else, and you work just as fast as everyone, even though it doesn't look like it." I said something about having learned to conserve energy and still get the job done without looking like a complete maniac, and then she said, "You know, that's one of the qualities that will make you a great wife someday. You're going to make some man very lucky. And not just because you work hard." It was just so strange... another one of those little things (regarding submission, being a good wife, and being a godly woman) that have been coming across my path a lot lately.

What a bizarre conversation to have with your boss! It's cool, though. I love the atmosphere that I work in... it's really encouraging. There are a lot of Christians there, although not everyone, and it's a really fun place to work most of the time.

One year ago today: Question. Does anyone else find friendship to be as infuriatingly addictive as I do? Sometimes, I wish I could be solitary. There are days when I just wish I could go it alone, without friends, without connections, without love, without ties. It would make life so much easier.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:48 p.m.