about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Nov. 11
... Those in peril on the sea
I think that Remembrance Day is one of my favorite holidays. Non-religious holidays, that is. There�s always something about it that makes me very thankful and reflective. I suppose that�s the point, right? I love walking through the malls, though, and seeing so many people wearing poppies�even though they're just little pieces of fuzzy plastic, they're full of meaning, and they�re something that binds people together in a way that many other things don't. It takes people of all races, religions, and lifestyles, and Canadians become Canadians first for just one day of the year.

I was watching the national Remembrance Day ceremonies from Ottawa this morning, and the commentators kept referring to "the act of remembrance." I thought that was really cool�it kept reinforcing for me the fact that remembering something is a conscious effort. Particulary remembering something vividly. If it's not vivid, it just becomes a vague picture of something that used to be in your head somewhere else� It has to be real to be important, and for it to be real, you have to take the time to remember and think about it specifically and consciously. You have to ask the people who were there to tell you their stories and the importance of those. You have to realize the consequences and take a minute to think about how different your life would be if things were just a little bit different. If the situation had played out just a little bit differently. If a few people�or even just one person�had made a few decisions a little differently.

The act of remembrance. I like that. It makes it more poignant and important than just "remembering." Remembering something is a passive thing that just happens, and it comes and goes without effort, but taking the time to remember is an active action. Heh. You can tell I'm in the middle of NaNo. I'm being redundant, and I don't even care. "Active action," hey? Who knew? I don�t think that's even something I should be allowed to write. That's okay. I'm taking a lot of creative liberties this year. Many more than last year. I don't know if they'd be classified as "creative liberties," though�more like "creative destruction." Or something like that. I'm trashing the English language and the fine art of writing, ripping it to pieces as fast as I can.

One year ago today: I love the fact that Remembrance Day still acknowledges God. The songs sung and the hymns played were just that: hymns. Songs that remind us of the foundations that Canada was built on--"That He would have dominion from sea to sea"--and the principles that the soldiers fought for. My dad commented that in a country where God is denied and religion is mocked more and more every day, there comes a time when God is undeniable and has to be honored. It would be a disservice to this country and to the people who fought for it to leave God out of the ceremonies and the remembrances.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:49 p.m.