about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Feb. 16
... Dum da da da dum dum (the zombie dance returns)
Oh my. Getting Laurel, Jordan, and me together in Denny's after rehearsal can be... interesting. Did you know that the pink packets of Nutra-Sweet are the adopted gay children of the syrup and the salt? Yeah, neither did I. Until tonight, that is.

You know, I always have to laugh when I read a review of a romantic comedy and it says that it's "formulaic" and "predictable." Well, duh. Isn't that part of what a romantic comedy is, by definition? There's a different premise, but the end result is always the same. If I want surprises or brilliant acting, I'll go see a drama, or something suspenseful, or something "serious." If I want to see a happy ending, a cute story, and get my fill of *sigh, I want that* moments, I'll go see a romantic comedy. I just think it's funny when people criticize that. There are things to criticize, perhaps, but the predictability isn't it. Maybe it's not the most brilliant film ever, but it's not supposed to be.

Anyways... I'm so excited for the play... it's all coming together. There are always things that can be changed, but it's come a long way. I love this part of the process--watching the rehearsals come together with the lights, sound, costumes, acting, set, props, relationships, everything. All the pieces that have been there for months, being worked on separately, just waiting for that right moment to bring the whole thing together... it's all happening. The last few rehearsals are all about fine-tuning and making all the pieces fit.

What a random entry. Hey, no school tomorrow, thanks to living in Alberta and getting our great holiday--Family Day. Yeah, that's our excuse for a stat holiday in February. January's got New Year's; February had nothing (until Family Day came along...); March/April have Easter and spring break; May has Victoria Day; June is the end of school anyways; July has Canada Day; August has the Civic Holiday; September has Labor Day; October has Thanksgiving; November has Remembrance Day; December has Christmas. Yeah. Now that I've just run down all of our holidays for you, that's why we have Family Day. At least, that's my theory.

And now that I've soundly proven everyone else's theory that I'm a complete and utter geek, I'm going to go, before I offer any other compelling evidence for any other (completely untrue, of course) theories about me.

P.S. I think this is my 800th entry. Go me!

P.P.S. Nope, I was wrong. It's number 801.

One year ago today: *sigh* One more short week of classes, and then reading week. Can I hold on that long? I really need a break. The thing is, though, I feel like I haven't been doing enough to deserve a break. I'm tired out by life, but I haven't been doing anything spectacular. I've just been going from day to day to day, and that's been enough to exhaust me beyond the point of tired. I just don't know why. It's not even a busy tired on the days when I have rehearsals or anything like that. It's a dead-tired I-can't-motivate-myself-to-get-out-of-bed tired. Ah well...
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:42 p.m.