about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Feb. 15
... Like a dream to me
How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days was really cute. Chicago was great. Dinner with Laurel was wonderful... and we got seated next to a big table of people, not next to all the tables of mushy couples.

I'm not feeling sorry for myself; I wasn't feeling sorry for myself last night. I had a great time, first hanging out with Chelsea and Janel; then with Laurel. Yeah, the whole day was a "singleness reminder," but that's just because it's Valentine's Day, and it's far too focused on commercialized love. It's not because of any vendetta against me by any particular person. No one's out to remind me that I'm single, or to spend the whole day rubbing it in my face. That would be someone pathetically without a life.

There's nothing wrong with going out with my girlfriends and having a great date evening on our own, without guys. That's important. It's important at this stage in the game to remind us that we don't need them to be worth something, and it's important when we do have relationships to remind us that we--and our girl friends--are worth something apart from the men in our lives. It's just sad when we make the time to do it as a rebuttal to (or a defense mechanism against) the societal standard of romance, instead of just doing it because we love our friendship.

Yes, it made me sad. There are a lot of memories associated with Valentine's Day over the years, and I felt somewhat of a sense of loss over some of them. Not all of them, but some of them. I wondered how things could have been different. I'm a wonderer in many ways, and days like this just bring it out even more.

But I've been writing this entry for an hour, and I need to get ready for work. I made it through another Valentine's Day. Today is February 15, and I don't have to think about it for another year.

One year ago today: Sometimes, I hate talking. It seems so pointless some days; seems like it does no good, like all it does is go over the same ground over and over and over again. The same things that have been hashed out before, complained about, rejoiced over, talked about before, all being said yet again. But does it really make a difference? Not really. Not usually. Just words.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:07 a.m.