about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Dec. 1
... Meant for someone else
December already? How time flies. Last night, Wanda and I were talking about Y2K, and how everyone was so freaked out about it, and yep, that was 5 years ago. Who knew?

Anyways... Interesting few days at work. Ismarys gave her 2 weeks yesterday. Her last day is actually the same as Blair's last day before he leaves for 3 weeks in England for Christmas (yep, still jealous). So if there was ever any doubt about the number of hours I'll be working over Christmas, it's been sufficiently erased.

Things will definitely be different when Blair gets back in January.

Yesterday, a guy that I went to elementary, junior high, and high school with came into the store. I'd seen him there before, but yesterday I just started to wonder what he was thinking. I mean, I was the classic over-achiever. Top marks, graduated second in my class--in a lot of ways, my identity throughout school was "the smart one."

Now, I know that I'm at Quiznos for a reason, and most people who have known me through college know that, but I had to wonder what he thought to see me there. What does it look like for me to be working full-time in fast food, 4 1/2 years after graduating from high school.

Yes, I have a degree. Yes, I have dreams. No, I haven't given up on them. And I know that I'm not doing it for anyone else, but it does make me wonder. And it makes it difficult some days.

I'm still there for a reason, though. I firmly believe that. It's just that the reasons are changing. But I haven't been given the go-ahead to leave yet. God hasn't released me from this place and these people, so I'm still there.

At least there are people who understand, though. Blair knows what I'm going through; Becky understands where I'm coming from--that makes it a much easier environment.

And, you know, I'm interested to see how things change over the next month. It'll definitely be interesting--it'll make life different for sure. In a very good way, I hope.

We decided today that my New Year's Resolution should be to make Blair's life as miserable as possible. Heh.

I talk a lot about work.

Something other than work: Last night, I was actually home before midnight (around 8), so I saw Becka for the first time in at least a week and a half, talked to Jen for an hour and a bit, did laundry, cleaned my room, and did a few chores around the house. Good thing, too--now we get into tech week, and any semblance of normality is gone.

And don't you just love it?!
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:00 p.m.