about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jan. 23
... Watching you from afar
Well, for lack of anything better to start this entry with, we'll go with an old favorite--the Friday Five.

At this moment, what is your favorite...

1. ...song? "You Raise Me Up," by Josh Groban. That guy has got an amazing voice.

2. ...food? The chocolate peanut brittle that my mom made and sent home with me. Mmmmmm... That's some yummy stuff!

3. ...tv show? It's a toss-up between "American Idol," "Will & Grace," and "The Apprentice." I'm such a pop-culture whore.

4. ...scent? Starbucks. It's got a smell all its own...

5. ...quote? "If you cannot read all your books, at any rate, handle, or, as it were, fondle them - peer into them, let them fall open where they will, read from the first sentence that arrests the eye, set them back on their shelves with your own hands, arrange them on your own plan so that if you do not know what is in them, you will at least know where they are. Let them be your friends; let them at any rate be your acquaintances." --Winston Churchill

I had more to say, but I'm about to fall asleep here. I didn't get much sleep last night, and then work this morning was interesting, to say the least. I can't concentrate on this. I want to go take a nap, but I'm going repeat exactly what I said yesterday--I should be at the gym right now, not sitting here. I should go now, because I have time before I need to pick Logan up from work. Nap? Gym? Which is more responsible of me? The sad thing is that the way I've been feeling today, they're probably equally important.

One year ago today: It's interesting how some of the same themes keep repeating themselves, over and over and over, both in life and in my diary. It sometimes seems silly to keep reiterating the same things over and over, though. I look through, and so many of my entries focus around several central themes that have constantly reappeared--or never actually disappeared--for the past year and 9 months that I've had this diary. School. Direction. Loneliness. The church. Friendship. God's goodness. Almost everything centers around one of those few themes.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:28 p.m.