about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jan. 24
... Only shooting stars break the mold
It's technically Friday, isn't it? Yes... according to the clock on my computer, we are now one hour and twelve minutes into Friday. I guess that's far enough along to do the Friday Five for this week. Some of these ones will take some thought to answer, though...

1. What is one thing you don't like about your body? My stomach. If I could change anything, I'd get rid of that little paunch there. It's not a lot, but I'd absolutely love to have a flat tummy.

2. What are two things you love about your body? My smile and my eyes. I think I've got a really nice face. Maybe that just counts as one; I don't know. I think I have nice legs, too. Mostly my calves--I've been complimented on them unusually often, and I'm usually pretty happy with them.

3. What are three things you want to change about your home? Well, considering the fact that I'm shopping for new ideas for when I move into my own place this spring/summer, quite a bit. Not a lot here, but when I get into my own place... Hmmm. What do I want? I want to have the cube bookshelf from Ikea (it's 25 squares, instead of just shelves), and do that with pictures, flowers, books, etc. in my living room. I want to play with the colors in my living room--do my walls in something unusual, but striking; something that will go well with kind of neutral furniture, but that will be more exciting to look at than white. And for number three? It would be so cool to have a room done on Trading Spaces. How much fun would that be?!

4. What are four books you want to read this year? The Arm of the Starfish, by Madeleine L'Engle; The Fun of It: Stories From The Talk of the Town, by Lillian Ross; Reflections on a Writing Life, by Madeleine L'Engle; and The Creative Call, by Janice Elsheimer.

5. What are five promises you have kept to yourself? That I wouldn't let myself get sucked back in again after last year; that I would go to the gym more often; that I would let myself say no to some things, even if I wanted to do them, if I knew that I couldn't handle any more; that I would stop putting people in the middle of my problems; and that I would read more classic literature.
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:11 a.m.