about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Feb 12
... The last night
I've been spending a little too much time immersed in this play! :o) Kat turned on the TV today, and it came on in the middle of a sentence. "This city blah blah blah..." I, in my play-induced state, heard "Terminus City blah blah blah." And then, to make matters worse, an ad that I heard later this evening started with the words "Every man..." AHHHHHH!!!!!!

And for the slightly uneducated, the play takes place in Terminus City, and one of the characters is named "Everyman." So that's why it's scary. ;o)

Tonight's rehearsal went amazingly well, though. The kids had fun with it, and they did the first act the best I've ever seen it. I love doing notes with them at this point in the play, because Laurel and I can be super nit-picky with them. That's a good thing, when we start worrying about the tiniest minute details, because that means we're not worrying about the big things like, "Come on stage now!" We get to give them funny notes like, "Mike and Tristan, you look like Mike's beating you up; good job. Ed and Noah, you look like you just finished having sex! Fight more!" And that was Laurel's note, not mine, just for the record! :o) But it was entertaining nonetheless.

They're going to do a great job. I'm glad we get to perform it often enough that they get a chance to get into the "groove" of performing. The first performance runs purely on adrenaline and is usually great. The second performance is often still great, but sometimes the cast starts to get cocky about the first night, and it's not as good. By the third performance, they're in the routine of doing it, and it's more than just an adrenaline rush; it's an established routine.

Not to say that my cast is going to do this; not to say that they're going to bomb on night two or anything. I totally don't think they will! I just know from experience that often the second night is most tiring, because it's right in the middle--not quite on the initial rush; but not yet into the routine of it.

I'd love to do a show someday that runs for a month or two or longer; getting into the routine of performing every night, or a couple of times a week... wondering what I'd be like and how I'd get into character and keep it interesting and stuff like that night after night. The thing I love about theatre, though, is that it's never exactly the same twice. The way I react won't be exactly the same night after night, and I love that. I love the fact that it can be always real; that it can stay fresh, even after the hundredth time I've performed it.

Anyways, I have a script to memorize for tomorrow. It's just not coming! Bleah. I feel like such a lazy bum. And I most definitely don't want to let Jordan down by not having it finished for tomorrow, so I should get my butt in gear and finish that!
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:31 p.m.