about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Feb. 25
... Anyone from anywhere can make it if they get a lucky break
I have tickets for ATP tonight. That'll be fun. I think I'm going to go to a bookstore until it's time to go to the theatre, and find a good book to read.

I just realized--I didn't do the Friday Five this week, so I think I'll do them now. It was a busy weekend, okay? I didn't have time to do them on Friday! So, even though it's Tuesday, here goes...

1. What is your most prized material possession? Ummm... I have a lot of things that I like, but nothing I couldn't live without. Probably my memory box, though. That has the most important "stuff" from the past 7 years of my life... little pieces from school, friends, family, plays I was in--things like that. It's a bit of a "this is what's making me, me" trip down memory lane.

2. What item, that you currently own, have you had the longest? I don't own much from before I was 12--that was the year our house burned down, so we lost most of my childhood stuff. Probably the oldest thing I have right now is my bed, which was my great-grandma's at one point, but it hasn't been mine that long. I don't know... probably some of the books I've had since the fire, that are still at my parents' house.

3. Are you a packrat? Kinda. I have a box of stuff--papers, notes, cards, programs, pictures--that I keep, and I tend to hang onto some stuff because I might use it for some project at some point, but I don't hang onto every box and scarp of ribbon "just in case" I'll use it someday.

4. Do you prefer a spic-and-span clean house? Or is some clutter necessary to avoid the appearance of a museum? Organized clutter. I like things to be neat--I don't like a mess--but I like things to look homey. A little but of clutter is different from dirt. I don't like having a dirty house that looks like it hasn't been cleaned, but having a little bit of clutter, as long as it's somewhat neat, is okay.

5. Do the rooms in your house have a theme? Or is it a mixture of knick-knacks here and there? I'm working on themes. This house doesn't have much of that, but I'm collecting things, for when I get into my own apartment. I've got some ideas for color schemes and the look I'm going for, but right now, they're just ideas.

One year ago today: I remember when I was little, our church had numerous Tupperware dealers in it (still does, probably), and the standing jokes used to be about how fresh Tupperware would keep things, and how the next thing they would come out with would be a Tupperware coffin, to make the Resurrection a little bit easier. Yah, okay, dumb joke. But to my mind right now, it's somewhat funny. And even if it's not keeping bodies alive, it's certainly keeping my Christmas cookies alive and kicking. Or not alive and not kicking, as the case may be. Okay, I've had a wee bit too little sleep to make sense anymore.
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:44 p.m.