about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Feb. 24
... Now we're in a partnership it's just a piece of cake
Funny story. On Friday, just before the wedding, the strap on my shoe broke. I had a needle and black thread with me (thanks to an exercise in Acting and Scene Study the week before--it was still in my backpack), so I was about to try to sew it back together, when Murray, my boss, came in and saw me. He offered to glue gun it back together, so that was all fine and dandy, until it broke again during the recessional. Fortunately, those shoes can stay on without that particular strap, so I didn't lose my shoes going down the aisle. So, I sewed my shoes back together on the bus to the Devonian Gardens.

Okay, maybe it wasn't that funny. Maybe it was just funny at the time. I think that must be it, because it sounds pretty pathetic, now that I re-read it.

Anyways. That's about the most interesting thing that happened to me today.

Although yesterday Tristan gave me a breadmaker. I was sitting on the couch, watching TV, when he and Janel came in. "Do you know how to fix a breadmaker?" he asked.

"That's the kind of thing I'd ask my dad to do, if it ever came up," I replied.

"I have a breadmaker that won't mix the dough, and it's sitting in my car, and if you say you want it and you'll get your dad to look at it, I'll go get it, and you can have it. Right now."

"He will," Janel interjected.

I laughed. "Oh-kay..."

And Tristan ran out to his car to get the breadmaker. I kid you not. So now I have one. My dad looked at it, and he said it must have been a loose connection, because when he fiddled with it a bit, it worked just fine.

So, not only do I have a breadmaker, I have a working breadmaker. And it was free. Nice deal for me, hey?

Okay. That was my entertaining story for the night. I'm going to go now.

One year ago today: I've just been informed that our house has been nominated for the party house to watch the Canada-US gold medal game. Kat has no idea how many people are coming over, but apparently people have been coming up to her at church saying, "So, I hear there's a party at your house this afternoon?" Um, okay, I guess there's a party at our place this afternoon! I'm still in my jammies, but they're sweats and a t-shirt, so I'm decent, and I don't feel like getting dressed until I'm good and ready to get dressed! I'll just put on a bra so I'm not flopping all over the house with all these 16-year-old guys coming over... that would not be fun times. They were going to go to Schanks, but of course it's been packed since 10:00, so there's no way they can all get in there...
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:31 p.m.