about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Mar. 12
... Straight up, now tell me
I don't know what it is about Wednesday mornings, but they're worse than Mondays. It's far more of a struggle to get out of bed on a Wednesday than a Monday--and Tuesday nights aren't generally my latest night of the week. I don't know...

Anyways.

I had an interesting discussion with Ed yesterday about being the director, particularly from his perspective as an actor that I direct.

It's interesting, because there's definitely a sense in which I'm separate from them. Like I said before, it's not a snobbish exclusivity, but I am the leader of the group, and that lends itself to being in a different position than they're in. I have a different sort of bond and relationship with each one of them than they have with each other.

Ed was saying that he definitely sees me as different from them, but still part of the group, but in a different way. I'm part of "the group" in a way that any of the audience members aren't, but I'm not part of the same bond that the cast has.

He described it as being like a general in the army--I prepare them, teach them, instruct them, challenge them, and push them, but when it comes to the battle, I watch. I'm not up there with them, but I've been the most integral part of getting the whole thing off the ground.

I still like the parental analogy--I have the most vested interest and the most commitment to the play. They each pour their heart and soul in to one area; I pour mine into the whole thing. I watch them, push them, encourage them, challenge them, and in the end, I have to sit back and watch them do it on their own. And even so, I love them more, in that moment, than anyone else, because I know everything that went into it. I realize the inner workings that it took to get to that point.

But it was interesting to hear someone else's perspective on it. Especially his perspective, coming from where he does, as a part of the group.

Anyways, I'm wondering where Laurel is... I hope she gets here soon... 'cause once she's out of class, it's lunchtime!

And here she is, Miss America! Let's go eat, Laurel! Okay? "Okay, Alida, where are we going to go?" "I don't know, you were supposed to figure that out while you were in class."

She's playing with my ponytail, reading the words I'm putting in her mouth. And I'm being a class-A dork, so I'm going to go now.

One year ago today: I was also writing about how it's odd not to be involved in Steel Magnolias this semester. It wasn't so much when I was doing Morbidman and I was so involved in other drama things, but now that they're opening tomorrow night, and everyone is focused on the show, it's harder. It's going to be weird to be in the audience tomorrow night instead of onstage or even backstage. Or even sitting in the audience, but having been involved in everything.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:58 a.m.