about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Mar 2
... Final thoughts on a beauty
Well, Morbidman Meets His Maker is a wrap. It was a great show, a lot of fun, and a great cast to work with. Although some days, heading home from rehearsal, that wasn't the foremost thought on my mind! In the end, though, everyone pulled through and it was an amazing show. This cast and crew has worked so hard, and they've put soooo many hours into this. A director is only as good as the effort the cast puts into a show, and these guys did a great job.

I've learned so much as a director, too. Probably because this is the hardest show I've ever directed. Not necessarily acting-wise or anything; although there were parts that were more difficult than other things I've done, but because it was so challenging in other ways. There were days when I thought it would never come together; days when I thought my entire cast would quit long before we ever got anywhere near the stage.

God had other plans, though, and he made this come together. Yah, we put our best work into it, and we gave God our best that we possibly could, but he took our gifts, however meager they may have been, and turned them into something beautiful.

Sometimes, I just watch the show and I think, "I'm responsible for this?!" It sometimes kinda blows me away how God can take me and use me to accomplish something so incredible for him. Of course, I watched my kids running around after the show tonight, all hyper because they were finished, and I thought, "Sometimes I shudder to think that I'm responsible for all of them!" So it goes both ways.

I can't do it alone, though. Sure, I may be the one responsible for it and in charge, but I need the support of Craig behind me; I need the cast to be behind me; I need my crew, my youth group, my church, my prayer supporters... it's so much more of a team effort than people realize. It's not just me; it's not just even the people onstage, or even them and the people backstage. It's the parents who drive their kids to rehearsals. It's the office staff at the church who put up with me and my requests. It's Craig and the youth group praying for us. It's Cindy and the drama team at school supporting and praying for me. It's all of us together...

Earlier this year, I felt in a lot of ways like I was trying to do it alone. I felt like I didn't have the support I needed to have behind me; like I didn't have the people there to encourage me and push me along. To pray for me, to keep me going, to encourage me, to support me, to respect me... any of that. I felt like it wasn't there. And that's where God stepped in in a great way, and redeemed what was not.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:55 a.m.