about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Apr. 17
... These are the women
There's something about a girls' night where I'm the oldest one by at least two years that's just weird. Ranging in age from 14 to 22. Hmmm. Makes me feel like the resident mother.

Of course, Laura and I have known that for years, ever since we became Mama Laura and Mama Alida to the girls. That was at least three years ago, and the girls that we're Mama-ing just get younger and younger.

There's just something about it that makes me feel like I should be getting more mature. Makes me stop and take a little more responsibility for things. Maybe not outwardly--I like to think that I can balance the immaturity of a high school crowd with the maturity of a college grad--but definitely inwardly. I'm realizing that I do have an influence here, and I need to take that seriously.

But not too seriously. I'm going to go make some chocolate fondue. Mmmmm.....

One year ago today: Sometimes God gives them, definitely. Sometimes, the need for a direct sign from God--a lightning bolt across the sky--is great. But I think that more often, decisions are made through intense prayer and soul-searching. I think that makes the answer more real sometimes. I can claim it, because I've spent so much time searching for it, and in the process, more of my questions have been answered.
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:43 p.m.