about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Jan. 27
... I saw my reflection
Wow--I hit this entry right at midnight. Woo me.

So I did go do reading. *sigh*

I walked into Denny's and sat down at my table, which was right beside the big corner table. At the corner table, there were two middle-aged couples, probably in their mid-fifties. One of the gentlemen was obviously a pastor, and they were discussing a sermon that he had preached at some point. I walked in to hear:

"Where were the public washrooms in a Jewish city? Outside the city walls. Where was this guy? In the middle of the city. He was paralyzed. He couldn't get to the bathrooms, so you can imagine how he smelled. And you know how it says that it took four friends to carry him to Jesus? He was probably a pretty little guy. If he'd been paralyzed for so long, his limbs would have atrophied, and it wouldn't have taken more than two of them to carry him. They probably took turns, because the stench would have been enough to make them hurl. Walk a few blocks, then it's your turn to spew while your friends carry him a few blocks."

Interesting--I'd never thought of that before. It's funny what new things come to your attention.

Anyways, I was sitting there reading my massive "Historical Handbook of Major Biblical Interpreters" when one of the men (not the pastor, the other one) leaned over the booth and asked if I was studying at a seminary. I told him that I was studying at Rocky, and what course this was for, and then went back to my book and they went back to their conversation. As they were leaving, all four of them made some sort of comment such as, "Good luck," "Have fun studying," or "God bless" as they walked past me.

Those kinds of encounters always encourage me. I love knowing that the body of Christ is so much more widespread than I ever think it is. I love the encouragement that comes from just knowing that we follow the same God. It doesn't matter that I had no clue who these people were. There was a common denominator there, and that was enough.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:00 a.m.