about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Dec. 4
... Jingle bells chime in jingle bell time
I'm exhausted, and I love it. Absolutely adore this time of the show. Call me crazy (and I'm sure that many of you will), but in many ways, tech week is my favorite part. That week between load-in and opening night, and then the run of the show. That's when things start to come together. That's when the pieces start to fit, and all the little things that were good on their own become excellent in combination with everything else.

Dress rehearsal was this morning, in case you couldn't tell. Q to Q was Thursday; tech was last night; dress was this morning. We did two full runs this morning, which is good, and when I left the church at 2:30, they were just tweaking the lights and set. Nothing major left to be done, just a few minor details that needed to be taken care of.

And tomorrow night... dun dun DUN... we open. I'm ready. My cast is ready. The tech is ready. And whatever's not ready has no choice but to be. Because it's time.

Did I mention that I've stopped sleeping? I get to that stage right before a show. I start thinking about everything that needs to be done, I start running lines in my head, I wake up in the middle of the night with to-do lists and scripts running through my brain, and I don't get much sleep. I don't think I got more than 4 hours a night for the entire week before my showcase.

Anyways. Back to Christmas.

I'm ready for tomorrow night to be here. I've done my work; tomorrow, I'll be buzzing around, making everyone else nervous. On opening night, my adrenaline shoots through the roof. All the exhaustion of the show disappears (or is assimilated into my nervous energy), and I flit and twitter. I jump from one task, one room, one group to the next, not really doing much that's useful, but pretending to anyways.

And then, next Sunday, we're having a department head meeting to debrief and talk about what needs to be done differently.

There are a lot of things, to be honest. At this point, they're not worth dwelling on, because the show is going up the way it is, and it looks excellent the way it is, but there were stresses and issues that didn't need to be there. I can't do anything about them for this show, but for the next one...

In any case, it goes up tomorrow! Exciting!!

And Monday I have the day off work (hallelujah--both Blair and I have the day off, which I hope will be a very good thing), and there's no show. I have an evening meeting, but I have the entire day free, and at this point, am planning to do something relaxing and fun that has absolutely nothing to do with the show. Of course, that may change, but at the moment, that's the plan.

But yeah. I'm going to try to take a nap, because, yup, last night was very short.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:04 p.m.