about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Dec. 16
... One look at you and I cannot disguise
I suppose it's inevitable that when I go to my old high school, I feel old. Especially when I go back 5 months away from getting my college degree.

I do really appreciate the fact that I still have teachers that I can go talk to and keep in touch with over the years. Maybe it makes me a geek, but I would hate to think that I could walk away from three years there, and walk away from some of the teachers that impacted me the most, and never talk to them again. It's not that often--a Christmas card, a visit to the school once or twice a year, seeing them when I happen to be at one of my brother's or sister's events in Strathmore...

Yesterday was one of those days--I had some errands for my Dad that I needed to do in Srathmore, so I stopped at the high school once I was finished. The funniest thing was that I ended up talking to a couple of the guidance counsellors for a few minutes, and I wasn't particularly close to either of them. Relatively, but not to the extent that I was with some other teachers. They both seemed to find it fascinating that I decided to go into theatre, rather than something more "academic," since I was a top student in high school.

Anywasy, I digress. I spent most of the time there with Mrs. Hune, my French teacher, and the teacher that I'm probably still closest to. I did see Ms. Harris, my Student Council advisor, and another one that I still keep in touch with, but I didn't see Mrs. Galandy, my grade 12 English teacher. I havne't stayed as close to her, although I do still send her Christmas cards and say hi whenever I get the chance.

It's cool to know that there are people who invested in me enough--and that I impacted enough--that they still remember me, even after hundreds of students have come and gone through their classrooms since then. A little slice of immortality? Perhaps. On a very tiny scale. It'snice to be remembered.

Am I the only one? Does anyone else keep in touch with old teachers? Or is it just the kind of thing that only the biggest geeks and teachers' pets do?

One year ago today: What an entertaining entry. I vacillate from writing depressing philosophical musings to writing inane babble about my day, and these days, it seems like there's nothing in between. What happened to my fun rants about my life, work, passions, and beliefs? I guess they're still in there somewhere; I just have to work a little harder to find them.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:48 a.m.