about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Apr. 6
... If I were a rich man
So I had an eventful night last night. I was in an accident. My car was totalled.

I'm okay; everyone else in the other car is okay. I've got whiplash, and who knows what else my chiropractor will tell me once I get x-rays of my neck tomorrow.

Right now, I've got the truck, so at least I've got wheels, but I need to find something else soon. And cheap. I can't afford this right now. I was planning to save for a new car in the fall, but this definitely changes my plans a bit. So, if anyone knows about a cheap, used car that runs fine--I don't care what it looks like--let me know. I'm going to be desperate pretty soon! :o)

I'm pretty stiff and sore, and like I said, we'll see what's wrong tomorrow. There's some inflammation, and I'm very out of alignment, but nothing serious (I don't think).

Oy. Just what I needed right now. But, then again, there's never a good time for something like this.

Other than that, it was a pretty normal day. Except for the fact that I was already awake at 5:10 a.m. when my phone rang. Beeped. Whatever. It was a text message, so it technically didn't ring. But I still answered.

I've been doing that a lot lately. Waking up around 5, that is; not answering my phone. Before my showcase, I was waking up with lines and dance steps running through my head. The week of Hobbit, I was waking up paranoid of being late for the 8 a.m. rehearsals. I've been sleping well for the past few nights, until last night. I think that last night, it was pain and a bit of stress more than anything. We'll see how it goes in the morning.

I'm thirsty. I want fruit juice. But I need sleep. I'll just have to leave early enough to grab something in the morning on my way to class.

Yeah. I'm going to bed.

One year ago today: Someone told Val (the SM for this show) that doing a show is like having a baby. First, there's the rehearsal process, which is like the pregnancy. It's tiring, draining, long, and it gets more and more complicated the more it goes along. Tech week and dress rehearsals are labor. They're the messiest, most difficult, most frustrating part. All of the pieces are coming together, there are too many long days in a row, and it's just painful. Tech week is never a fun time. Then, the baby is born. Opening night, labor is over, and you're admiring the newborn. It's time to enjoy the fruits of your labor (pun most definitely intended). However, there's still some work to be done. You can't quite just sit back and relax (especially if you're crew. It's a little different as the director, but the crew works hard during the run). So, we decided that the shows are like the placentas. There's some work to be done still, but the biggest job has been done already. This is just gravy. This is finishing the deal.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:04 p.m.