about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Dec. 29
... Wake me up inside
Ick. I still have that post-sick taste in my mouth--you know, the kind that you can never quite get all the way out, no matter how many times you brush your teeth. I got some sort of bug yesterday--a 24-hour stomach flu or something. I'm feeling a lot better now, but it made me pretty miserable yesterday. I made it to church yesterday morning, but that was about it. I tried to go to work, but ended up leaving after an hour, because I couldn't handle being around the food. Besides, I was too sick to do anything anyways, so I was just taking up space.

So, I came home and lay in bed all evening. Seriously--minus the 1 1/2 hours that I was at or travelling to work, I was in bed pretty much the whole time from 2:00 yesterday afternoon until noon today. Not sleeping the whole time, but dozing, at least. It was kinda nice, actually. Not the being sick, but having an excuse to get some rest.

Anyways, I should shower and try to get rid of the gross sick feeling that seems to be hanging on, and then get to work. Can I just take one more sick day? Please? I know, I know--I need the hours, and I'm not sick enough to stay home. But still. It would be nice.

One year ago today: I think that the "in crowd" never feels as "in" as everyone else thinks that they are. There's always the judging, right? Everyone knows that. There are the "cool" people and then everyone else, and somewhere in the middle are the people who are perceived as being "in" by some and "out" by others. The "uncool" people are convinced that they're being judged by everyone else and that if someone just looked at them for who they are, they would be accepted. The "cool" people are sometimes doing the judging, but sometimes they're just as affected by preconceived ideas as anyone else is.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:38 p.m.