about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sunday, Sept. 11, 2005
... Even the best fall down sometimes
Well. One week (and a half) here, and I'm starting to feel more settled.

It was interesting being in NY on September 11... it wasn't as huge a deal as I thought it might be, but I was definitely very aware of it, and very aware that here more than ever, I'm an observer. I have no idea how it has affected the people who live here, and yet it was an interesting place for me to be at.

Anyways... I got a package in the mail today, and I have no idea who it's from! I'm trying to think of who said they were going to send me welcome/care packages, and the only person I can think of who may have sent this is Jen... the more I think about it, the more I think it may be her, but I have no way of knowing for sure, until I ask around. It's cool, though--it's a journal called "Book Lust," and it's a place to track what I read, with notes, date, author, etc. Anyways. That was fun.

I went back to First Alliance this morning, after going out bowling with some people from church last night. I do enjoy it, but there's a part of me that still wants to try some other church. Two reasons: 1) the young adults small group at FAC meets on Friday nights, which I can't always do, and I'd like to find something that I can do more regularly, so preferably, my night off.

And 2), and much more significant... FAC is a small church. And that's not bad in and of itself, but... oh, how do I say this? I'm not being disparaging towards the church, because I've really enjoyed it, but things like the worship and the programming isn't what I'm used to. Keep in mind, I'm going from a church of 2000 to a church of 150 here, and I understand that the demographics are going to be significantly different.

However... I look at something like the worship team, which has (for the past 2 weeks) only been a piano and 2 vocalists, and I wonder if that's because it's the transition between summer and fall, if it's because there isn't the talent in the church to facilitate a larger team, or if it's because there is talent, but people are lacking desire.

If it's just the seasonal transition, that's completely understandable--seasons affect every church, but especially a small one. If it's talent... it makes me wonder what other ministries might suffer, or be unavailable, because of the size. If it's a lack of desire... that's worrisome, and I wonder what that might be indicitave of within the rest of the church. You know?

I really like the people I've met there, and people seem to be very friendly and welcoming, but I don't know if that in and of itself is enough to fully make it the right church for me. Definitely a decision that requires prayer and time, and possibly a visit to another church or two before I make up my mind.

Anyways, the church dilemma stays in my mind for another week, and I keep going. Lourenzo's full school days start tomorrow, so I start job-hunting tomorrow. That's exciting! Pray that something comes up soon--I need the extra cash, and I need the extra something to do with some of my time!

I'm sure the days will fly soon, and I'll find myself with more to do than I know what to do with, but for right now, I'm just starting to fill in those vast, empty blocks of white in my daytimer!

One year ago today: I was brushing my teeth, getting ready to leave the house to catch my bus for work, when Kat's mom phoned and Kat came in saying, "They're bombing the US! Washington and New York!" My initial reaction was that it was something like Orson Welle's War of the Worlds--a radio broadcast that was a hoax, but everyone believed it. It only took a split second, though, to realize that wasn't the case.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:09 p.m.