about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Apr. 23
... Show me the tears you never shed
So, theoretically, I've got the next five years of my life planned out to the most minute detail.

In reality, I've got a very good business plan for the first four year years of Unnamed Productions, and a pretty good outline of my goals and such for next year. Maybe it's not exactly what Cindy was looking for, but hopefully it's close enough that my mark will be good. It had better be--this paper is worth 75% of my grade in that class. Insane. That's a retardedly large number. And I thought 50% for one exam was bad.

Anyways... I've got a good outline. Fourteen pages, typed, single spaced. A lot of questions that I'll need to answer over the next five years. In some ways, that's what it became, more than a specific, researched plan. It's more, "These are the steps I'll need to take, the research I'll need to do, the decisions I'll need to make, and the action I'll need to take to get my theatre company off the ground."

And that, my friends, means that I'm finished this semester. Officially.

If only I could say that this means I'm finished at Rocky... it would be so nice not to have that hanging over my head at grad. But whatever. I only have 2 weeks left! I can handle that. The end is more in sight than it's ever been... it's imminent, and it's almost time!

Wow. It's been a fast four years. I feel like I'm planning so far into the future with this 5-year plan, but then I look at how fast the past 5 years have gone, and I realize that it'll be here before I know it.

Where will I be? I wonder. I wonder how "The Plan" will flesh out. Because you know what they say about the best laid plans... Will it just be another statistic, or will this actually become something big? And by big, I mean something that fulfills the dreams that God's given me, not necessarily something internationally recognized. That would be cool, but that's not the goal.

This is something that I have to do. It's a burden; it something that God has laid on my heart, and I need that I think needs to be filled within the theatre community. It's a passion, and there's no choice. If there was, I wouldn't be in theatre. It's the kind of industry that you do because you have to. There's no other choice, really.

One year ago today: I'm getting excited for November. I'm going to do NaNo again... it was a great experience last year, and I'm definitely planning to do it again. Of course, before I get there, I need to finish editing last year's novel and actually let some people read it. I just haven't gotten around to that little detail yet.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:31 a.m.