about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Feb. 13
... Every time she goes away
I love the respect that theatre ministry gets. Especially theatre ministry lead by a student. Grrr... I've always thought that my church was really good about being open and supportive, and I guess in general, they are, but lately there have just been a lot of little, stupid things that have been really ticking me off.

Things like... leaving the stage bare after we have a rehearsal (not putting all the music stuff back where it was). The way I see it, if they make us clear away all their stuff before we rehearse, we're doing them a favor by leaving them a blank space. We could just leave all of our stuff out and ask them to put it away before setting theirs up. What's the difference?

It's not a huge deal, but it's just one of those things, that when it's added with a few other things, becomes a bigger deal. I just wish they trusted me enough to run things.

I know, it's a big church, and if everyone ran things their own way, there would be mass chaos. I understand that. And I'm willing to accept that there are certain rules and expectations in being in a community like that. I just don't like it when they spring them on me at the last minute. I don't like surprises in my bookings, my performances, my rehearsals, or anything like that. Those need to be planned months in advance, and they need to be set in stone 6 months before they happen.

I know that some of it wasn't the church's fault, and now they're reacting to things that were the school's fault, or my fault, or whatever. Fine. But it's still really frustrating. I just wish that we got the same respect as music, or small groups, or children's ministry, or whatever. People don't seem to realize how important theatre ministry is.

Hopefully, though, the more I do this, the easier it'll get, and the smoother the road will become. And eventually, when someone else takes over this ministry, it'll be an established, respected force within the church, and they won't have to deal with nearly the number of these kinds of problems as I am now. They'll have other things, for sure, but not this.

I feel like Morbidman was the show that had a hell of a rehearsal process... not that I had a bad cast, but there were a lot more issues than there are this time. With Our Town, I've had a much easier time working with the cast, but the booking and administrative process through the whole thing has been hell. Is there going to be a show that's just good? No strings attached?

Ah well... more to do with this show--got to take the posters to the printers. Please, God, don't let anything go wrong with the posters. I've had war on all fronts, and I don't think I could stay sane if something goes wrong at the printers. Please, please, please, please let it work out okay!

One year ago today: Tomorrow's Valentine's Day. (duh)... I'm probably going to spend the evening at home working on a paper that's due on Friday. Woo. The excitement. I can't handle it. Oh, the life I lead. But hey, that means I don't have to spend extravagant amounts of money on a present for a boy who would probably forget that it's Valentine's Day in the first place. See, there are benefits to being single!
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:29 p.m.