about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Apr. 27
... Life was gonna be this way
I realized something yesterday.

When I get back from Europe this summer, there will be virtually no ties here for me. There's nothing that will force me to stay, the way there's been for the past four years.

I'm looking for a new job, I'm finished school, I'll be moving into a new house when I get back... even my ministry commitments at church aren't set in stone for next year, and I could choose not to do the same things as I did before.

It's a weird concept.

When I went on Testament two years ago, it was the halfway point. Halfway through my degree; kind of a sabbatical of sorts. I needed the break. I needed the 6 weeks away from the crap that was going on here--I needed the distance to give me some perspective and to give me the kick in the pants to make some major changes.

That really was a turning point for me--I can, in many ways, divide my time at Rocky into those two parts. Pre- and post-Testament. Well, first year was almost an entity in and of itself, but besides that... Testament was "the great divide."

But this time... it marks another turning point. This is the point where I'm free to go whatever direction I want to. The direction that God's going to lead me in isn't necessarily going to be as predictable as the past four years have been.

Don't get me wrong. There's been so much in these years that has been unexpected and surprising. I'm nowhere near where I thought I would be. But in terms of where I live and my education and so on, that doesn't leave as much room for major changes.

Now, that door is opening wide, and I don't know what to do with it. I don't know which direction I'm going to take over the next couple of years. Most likely, I'll still be in Calgary next year, but after that, who knows.

The thing is, I'm not that stressed out about it. It's exciting, and it's scary, but it's a good scary. It's the kind of scary that's a sign of moving forward with life and growing up. It's the kind of scary that you don't get when you're stagnant and when you stay in the same place forever. It's the kind of scary that comes when you're following your dreams and realizing that there's more out there than you thought.

One year ago today: Janel and I have had a steady stream of guys coming to our house in the middle of the night, on the snowiest day of the year, bringing in random pieces of furniture and boxes of stuff. Dave, Phil, Simon, and Brett are all storing stuff in our basement over the summer, so we had those four, plus Mitch, Logan, and Jason, coming in and out of our house. We're wondering what the neighbors were thinking. Especially when Simon came in yelling, "I'm going to be a cowboy stripper!" Yeah.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:18 p.m.