about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Apr. 9
... Can't feel your breath for the wind
So, happy birthday to me. :o) Nothing too exciting... I went out last night with Janel, Jen, Chelsea, Jordan, Dria, Ed, and Mike--Cheesecake, and then we went to see 50 First Dates. Worked today. Exciting, hey?

So, I decided that I should do some sort of funky entry. Something birthday-esque and exciting. Anyways. My 22 favorite memories of the past year. Since today's my 22nd birthday an all. Yeah...

  1. The random "burning legs" incident in Fort Macleod with Laurel. There were a lot of vanning incidents, but that one is definitely close to the top of the list!
  2. The poster-hanging and tree-decorating experiences with Logan. It's funny--they've almost become the same thing in my mind. Two diffeternt incidents, but they were so similar that they deserve to be just one thing.
  3. Jen's visit in April, especially the random Denny's night, the trip to West Ed, and marvelling at melting snow and green grass.
  4. The week I readjusted my schedule so that I was going to bed at 5:30 or 6, and sleeping until 12 or 1. I was home by myself, and there was just enough peace and solitude to be exciting.
  5. Bringing Linus home and watching him grow up and do all the cute little things that kittens do when they're really tiny. And, watching him grow into a sleek, elegant cat, not just a psycho kitten.
  6. Going to Vancouver with Janna to see Espresso; going out for drinks with Lucia; and the wide, wide range of conversations that took place in the 20+ hours we spent in the car.
  7. Christmas in Saskatoon, and Christmas at the farm.
  8. Dragging Laurel into every paint store in Red Deer to pick out house colors.
  9. My showcase, and the way everything fell into place. Everything went so well in the end, and all the little details came together, even though I didn't know if it would.
  10. The 20% ear piercing discount in Red Deer. Nothing like living life on the edge...
  11. Lynsae and Jereme's wedding weekend. It was one of those things that was just fun, and it was really, truly an honor, in the truest sense of the word.
  12. Going to see Fame!. Wow. I need that kind of relaxing weekend again. I needed that kind of time to be pampered and taken care of, just for a few days.
  13. Making it snow for Once Upon A Christmas. That was one of those random things that was just so weird, but hey, I made it snow, and that was the coolest. It was validation, of a sort.
  14. Buying the pink sponge rollers I had when I was little, and making my roommates put my hair in curlers for me.
  15. Doing NaNo for the second time, even though I didn't finish the novel. I was Calgary's ML, and I spent a lot more time on the boards, hanging out with people and getting to know them more than I did in 2002.
  16. Falling asleep during countless movies and TV shows, and never managing to stay awake for more than half.
  17. Light switches, squishing bugs, molten wax, hot stoves, peanut butter Oreos, milk cartons, and Hazel, except not spelled like that.
  18. The pink dancing chicken scaring Linus (and Jordan, for that matter).
  19. "My blood is not reckless!"... "It's so... MANLY!"... "I love this woman!"
  20. All the flat tires on the way to church. Which, of course, are only entertaining in retrospect.
  21. "Who else lives like this?!"
  22. Clay and Josh being banished to the car, and singing along to them every time we drove anywhere.

Wow. That list took a long time. Longer than I thought it would. I thought it would be easy to come up with 22 good memories. It was; I just made some of them more general, which made it harder.

Anyways. I'm going to bed. I have to work way too early in the morning. Again.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:30 p.m.