about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, May. 3
... One year ago, I didn't know me yet
Happy one year on Diaryland to me!

What has happened in this year? Well, just before the year started, I moved out of dorms and drove up to Edmonton by myself to visit Lynsae (don't worry... I won't go through the entire year in that much detail)...

It was a tough spring... I spent a lot of time in the grey world, not really living or caring about much of anything, even when I knew the answers and knew what I should be doing.

Even in that time, though, it was a good summer. I started hanging out with Kat more again, and we met Ness and started hanging out with her! Although apparently meeting her wasn't too overly momentous, since there isn't an entry about it. There's an entry about it at the end of the summer, though. ;o)

I went to Matt and Laura's grad with Kat and then to my high school's grad and felt incredibly old. It didn't seem like a year had gone by since we'd graduated. Now it's been another year, and it still doesn't feel like it's been all that long.

I taught my FACES classes again, and, in the beginning, wrote rants on a lot of the thoughts running through my head.

Summer--according to everyone but college students' calendar--came, and with it, more FACES daycamps, getting used to working with Marva instead of Ellen, going to the Stampede, and I was offered a job working security at the church.

In July, I went to SEMP, even though I didn't feel completely ready, and it was definitely a week to remember, for more reasons than one; many of which I never even wrote in this diary! :o)

Kat and I moved into our house and had a nice, relaxing, fun summer. It was, in a lot of ways, the quintessential college summer. The three of us--Kat, Ness, and I--were inseparable, and it was emotional, but nothing really huge and momentous happened... until the end of August, when I went to Jen's house to finally get to visit her for the first time ever!

School started again in September, and when Lynsae came to visit, we visited in dorms again, and that was one of the strangest things I've ever experienced. It meant that life was really moving on, and that I had to move on somewhere, too.

Then, September 11th happened, and of course everyone had a differnt opinion about the situation... but life still went on. Laura left for Germany, I auditioned for--and got a part in--Charlie Brown, and I found a script for the senior high drama team to do,and thus, another school year officially got under way.

I spent hours every week rehearsing for Charlie Brown, writing down funny quotes that people said, and trying to learn all the dances and choreography. Kathy and Christian started dating, and before we knew it, it was Kat's birthday, and we got to talk to Laura, all the way from Germany!

Life started to change, spiritually... something clicked that hadn't been there since I went into the grey world so many months ago, but it still wasn't altogether there. It was just a part of what I knew should be there. But still, there were moments when everything seemed to fit together and I knew where to find what was missing.

Charlie Brown came and went, and before I knew it, it was time for the Christmas banquet and all the escapades that went along with that. It was, to say the very least, an interesting evening.

Pretty soon, Christmas break came, and with that, came Laura, back from Germany for a few weeks, and Ness, back from Saskatoon. It was a good Christmas, even though I got sick and spent New Year's Eve in bed, and the New Year's Well on the couch in the staff room! There were still a few more days of freedom before school started, so they included a trip to "Edmonton" and more bad movies.

School started all too soon, and January was a pretty uneventful month. I didn't want to be where I was, but I couldn't get out of it, and I had nothing to hang onto. I had nothing profound to write, and nothing really interesting to say, because if I had, it would have all been just complaining anyways.

I auditioned for and then didn't make the drama team for the missions trip, and that devastated me. At that point, the trip was the only real reason I'd stayed in school--other than that, I didn't see a point in finishing the semester out. If it hadn't been for the trip, I was planning to just take some time off.

Valentine's Day came and went, and pretty soon it was opening night for Morbidman, which also happened to be the same weekend as the Canada/US gold-medal hockey game. Which, just in case anyone forgot, Canada won. Pretty soon, the play was over and life kinda settled into a slower, more relaxed pace. Well, sort of.

I started working at Tickers, and soon it was Easter weekend, and with that came the end of April. The end of two and a half years working in children's ministries... but a week later, it also came with my car, my birthday, and then mybirthday party. Ohhh... that was also the week of the fall, which turned out to be the whiplash, and the kidney infection.

Soon, the end of classes came, and then exam week and a mid-week jaunt up to visit Lynsae for a few days. The grad banquet wasn't as near of a disaster as every other school event all year, and I found out that there was a spot for me on the missions team after all!

And that's pretty much been my year. It sounds kinda boring when you put it like that, hey? Well let me assure you, it was anything but. It was one of those years that just has to be remembered somehow, even if it's not all remembered in this diary, because there's a lot that I just can't write here. But there's a lot that is here. A lot of the silly moments, the random thoughts, the rants and profound thoughts, the things that were important to me.

So happy one-year.... it's been quite the adventure!
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:55 p.m.